Even with the internet and being hyper-connected, there are some things from home that kind of fade away off to your peripheral when you live abroad. I have always been a big sports fan, American Football in particularly, but if you are watching a west coast early game from Korea, it comes on Monday morning at 3am. I tried a few times to wake up, watch the game, go back to sleep and then go to work, but I couldn’t do it consistently, so I ended up following the season mostly on instagram or watching highlights on my phone on my commute to work. I guess I could have downloaded games later but by the time my day was finished and I was back home, I had already seen all the scores or didn’t really think to grab the game later.

But last Sunday was Wrestlemania. I’ve been a huge wrestling fan since I was very young, but it was another one of those things that I had a hard time keeping up with, especially since I had not met anyone abroad who shared my passion for it. It’s way easier when a friend texts you or calls you to ask if you’re going to watch RAW or Smackdown, or to come over and watch a Pay-Per -View, then to keep up with it all on your own.

Wrestlemania is a big deal for me and my friends, and we always make a big production of it. We barbeque, start early for the pre-show activities and talk about Wrestlemanias of the past and our favorite matches and what happened to this wrestler or whatever. It’s an all-day thing, and it felt really good to be back in that place with like-minded people about a “sport” that I feel the general public still doesn’t really understand. Yes, we know a lot of it is fake. But it’s not about that. It’s about the pageantry, the rivalries, the drama and athleticism. But we know why we like it, and that’s enough.

Author: ashesgrammar

I've been living and teaching in Seoul, Korea, off and on for 7 years. I take other trips around Asia as well. I write about them sometimes. I hope you laugh at my buffoonery.

Leave a Reply

